About us

The Isle of Man Information Commissioner is appointed by the Council of Ministers, subject to the approval of Tynwald. The term of office is 5 years, with automatic eligibilty for a second term. A third term appointment may be made if Council of Ministers is satisfied that the appointment is in the public interest.

The Commissioner may appoint such officers as he considers appropriate to assist in carrying out his functions. 

Organisational Chart


Officers are public servants appointed on terms and in grades analogous to the Public Services Commission.  Roles are currently graded at Open Structure Grade 7, Senior Executive Officer, Higher Executive Officer and two at Executive Officer.

Current Staff

The current appointees are:


Information Commissioner    

Iain McDonald


Deputy Commissioner

Nicola Whiting


Senior Compliance Officer

Emma Evans


Casework Officer

Germaine Campbell

Casework Officer

Karel Garrett